Tenth Brigade ~ Virginia Division ~ Department of the Army of Northern Virginia

Time in Carrollton:

Pictures From 2018 Pictures From 2020 Pictures From 2022
Pictures From 2019 Pictures From 2021 Pictures From 2023


The Isle of Wight Avengers is a proud Camp in the Sons of Confederate Veterans.

We meet on the 1st Tuesday of
each month at 6:30 at the Carrollton Ruritan Club.


"He who forgets his ancestors is unworthy
to be remembered by his descendants!"



Our purpose is to fulfill the
Charge to the Sons of Confederate Veterans:

"To you, Sons of Confederate Veterans, we submit the vindication of the Cause for which we fought;
to your strength will be given the defense of the Confederate soldier's good name, the guardianship
of his history, the emulation of his virtues, the perpetuation of those principles he loved
and which made him glorious and which you also cherish. Remember, it is your duty to see that
the true history of the South is presented to future generations."

Lt. General Stephen Dill Lee, Commander General
United Confederate Veterans
New Orleans, Louisiana 1906

Confederate Monument ~ IOW Courthouse


February 6, 2024:  H. L. Hunley
Avengers Compatriot Bob Kennedy presented the Camp with an extensive history of the H. L. Hunley which was a Confederate submarine built to break the Union blockade of
southern ports known as the Anaconda Plan. The Hunley became the first submarine to successfully destroy an enemy warship, the U.S.S. Housatonic in Charleston Harbor.
Bob expained the early plans and building of the Hunley, its fatal early tests, and its discovery and raising in 1995.


Credit must be given to the Camp's trio who enjoy closing our meetings by leading us in the singing of "Dixie".
Richard Jenkins, Tom Conley, and Earl Hall

January 4, 2024:  Blockade Runners
Commander Fred Taylor, of Suffolk's Tom Smith Camp #1702, gave an interesting presentation tonight about an old photo that he discovered. After much research and detective work, Fred was
able to identify the man in the photo as Thomas M. Thompson from North Carolina. This prompted still further research about Confederate blockade runners and their ties with Bermuda.
Commander Ed Whitley presented membership certificates to Bob Kennedy (l) and Charlie Arnold (r).
Congratulations to them both!


Compatriot "Danny" Johnson passed away on Dec. 26, 2023

Memorial Service will be:
Jan. 3, 2024
1:00 p.m.
Sturtevant Funeral Home - Bennetts Creek Chapel



November 7, 2023:  The Cloverhill Tavern
Mr. Sam Winkler of the Fincastle Rifles Camp, appeared this evening in the person of Wilson Hix who owned the Cloverhill Tavern in Appomattox Court House during the War Between the States. Hix also served as the county sheriff.
Compatriot Winkler captivated our Camp as he related the experiences of Mr. Hix throughout the entire War.
Last month, 3 new men were accepted into the Avengers Camp as transfer members.
Tom Arnold
                                       Bob Kennedy                                                           (not pictured is Franklin McAllister)
At the November meeting, we also accepted Charlie Arnold (son of Tom Arnold) into the Camp as a transfer member.

Commander Ed Whitley displayed the SCV flag as our newest flag to display at all meetings.



This post card is by courtesy of Commander John A. Sharrett, III of the Stonewall Camp #380.
The post mark on the back is dated June 21, 1907.



I salute the Flag of Virginia with reverence
and patriotic devotion to the "Mother of
States and Statesmen" which it represents -
the "Old Dominion" where Liberty and
Independence were born.

-- Written by Mrs. Cassye Gravely, UDC


I salute the Confederate flag with affection,
reverence and undying devotion to the
cause for which it stands.  Amen.




Ed Whitley
December 12, 2018
Anthony M. Griffin December 3, 2008 December 11, 2018
M. Keith Morris, Jr. September 27, 2006 December 2, 2008





Site created on Sept. 1, 2006